An intro post of sorts

About me
I work in several faculty libraries within the University of Cambridge in the United Kingdom. Unlike larger academic libraries, in which librarians or library assistants are more likely to work in a single area (for example in reader services, cataloguing, acquisitions, information services, and so on), my jobs all entail doing a little bit of everything. And since every library does almost everything slightly differently, I’ve had to learn to do most of my daily tasks three different ways. The varied nature of the work means that I’m certainly never bored!

About this blog
I plan to post on all aspects of library and information services as I experience it, ranging from in-depth examinations of the most common tasks I undertake at work, to training sessions on new skills, and from conference or workshop reports to analyses of various challenges facing library services as a whole. I’m also about to undertake certification through CILIP (The Chartered Institute of Library and Information Professionals), so look out for posts as associated with the training as I progress towards certification. I’m hoping the certification process will take around one year.

I haven’t yet worked out an exact posting schedule, but at the moment the plan is to update regularly – at least once or twice a week.

While posts will touch on elements of my professional life, I want to make it clear that I am writing in a personal capacity and the views expressed are my own and do not necessarily reflect those of the libraries in which I work, or that of the University of Cambridge.

So, why the name?
A knight-errant was a roaming, itinerant knight who, in medieval chivalric literature, would travel around in search of adventures to prove his virtue and heroism. Given that my average working week is divided up between duties at three different libraries, I feel a bit peripatetic myself. Hence, I am the Librarian Errant.

Technically, I should be the Library Assistant Errant, but that wouldn’t fit the Twitter handle character limit!

Image attributions
My gravatar image is an initial capital from the painting ‘Annuciation’ by the Italian miniaturist Zanobi Strozzi. The work was completed around 1440 AD, and is from the illuminated manuscript Messale 558, 33v (San Marco, Florence). It is from Wikimedia Commons.

The banner image is a photograph of old book bindings at the library of Merton College Oxford, and was taken by Tom Murphy VII. It is from Wikimedia Commons.

Social media
You can follow me on Twitter at @librarianerrant, and I am also on Tumblr at The Librarian Errant. If you post about libraries, books, library and information services, or the publishing industry, I would be happy to follow you on Tumblr, Twitter or both.

About thelibrarianerrant

I'm a senior library assistant in one of the faculty libraries of the University of Cambridge. My posts here are in a personal capacity, and are on any topics relating to library and information services.
This entry was posted in academic libraries, library blogging, library services and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

