23 Research Things – Thing 13

We’ve gone beyond the halfway point, and today we’re thinking about Creative Commons licenses. I was familiar with these before starting this programme, as they’ve come up a fair bit in training I’ve both attended and delivered on issues surrounding open access, making research freely available to the public, and communicating research to the public.

I feel pretty positively toward Creative Commons licenses, as I think their different levels give authors a fair degree of flexibility in terms of how open and reusable they want to make their writing. They give authors the ability to control how their work is shared and reused (whether it can be done so in any context, with attribution, whether it can’t be used for commercial gain, and so on). I also think the different types of Creative Commons license encourage authors to reflect on the range of contexts in which their work might be shared, used, and adapted – contexts that go beyond traditional academic conferences or peer-reviewed journal publications – which can only be a positive thing.

This Research Things programme has sparked several changes in my own practice, and I suspect Thing 13 may have a similar effect. It’s certainly caused me to consider the contexts and circumstances in which I’d like my own work (on this blog, and elsewhere) used, and I’m pretty sure I’m going to start using Creative Commons licenses myself in the future. I still need to reflect on which type of license would be most appropriate for my own work, however.

About thelibrarianerrant

I'm a senior library assistant in one of the faculty libraries of the University of Cambridge. My posts here are in a personal capacity, and are on any topics relating to library and information services.
This entry was posted in personal narrative and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 23 Research Things – Thing 13

  1. Another great post and lovely to hear how the programme has sparked changes in your own practice. Exciting!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

