23 Research Things – Thing 19

Today I’ll be talking very briefly about text and data mining. My post will be short because this is not a technique I’ve used myself and I have no experience of it, although some of the researchers I’ve supported it have made use of data mining themselves. I think it has the potential to be a very useful research tool, but its limitations, covered in the presentation/transcript for today’s portion of the Research Things programme, may represent a significant hindrance. If text and data mining techniques cannot be used in the majority of key databases (those used by a majority of researchers in various fields), this is a severe drawback. Until this copyright issue is resolved, text and data mining should be used with care. As suggested in the presentation, it’s probably worth getting in touch with the team at ContentMine to check that you are applying text and data mining techniques correctly and complying with copyright.

About thelibrarianerrant

I'm a senior library assistant in one of the faculty libraries of the University of Cambridge. My posts here are in a personal capacity, and are on any topics relating to library and information services.
This entry was posted in resources and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

